Lessons Learned

time-warp

This past weekend was a great one for me.  I wanted to share it with you on Monday, and suddenly it’s Tuesday.  What?  It’s Wednesday?  OKAY!  Woo hoo!!  Wednesday!

On Sunday, my daughters – ages 21 and 16 – went to a concert.  I went along as well because, …well… I paid.  lol.  It was a very interesting day.  It started out a little shaky.  But it ended perfectly.

Just before we were walking out the door, my oldest asked her sister, “Is there anyone you would want to go with you?  That could be ready to leave right now?”  I asked if she didn’t want to go.  She looked kind of helpless and said, “No.  I do.  It’s just…  she doesn’t have anyone to hang out with.”  It turns out my daughter’s “bff” was going with another friend.  She had asked if they could save her a spot in line, and was told it wasn’t fair to let her butt in line.  Just because it happens everywhere?  Okay.  This wasn’t about butting in line.  This was about something more.

After driving for nearly an hour, I dropped my girls off at the end of the line – halfway down the street – and went to find out about picking up our tickets at “Will Call.”  It was roughly 2:00 and Will Call was supposed to open at 3:00.  The doors opened at 4:30 and the show started at 5:30.  So I walked down the street and my youngest walked back to the car with me to go to McDonald’s.  (Yes, I know McD’s ain’t the best choice, but let’s move on…)  As we were walking back to the car to go get the food, we saw her friend in line very close to the door.  She wasn’t texting my daughter back anymore.  My dear daughter (dd) was very sad.  On the verge of tears – and she’s NOT a crier.  She said, “I just thought it would be like it was before.  I was so looking forward to seeing this show with her.  She does this to me all the time.  I guess I’ll never learn my lesson.”  …Hold on there… What?

“No.” I told her.  “You have no lesson to learn.  You have been a good friend to “bff”.  You have been there for her.  You have helped her through the hardest times and have always been her champion.  You have done NOTHING wrong.  The lesson is HERS to learn.  That’s how life is.  Don’t stop being you.  Don’t change who you are.  You did everything right.  You are walking in your integrity.  She’ll learn her lesson and you won’t have to do anything.  That’s how life is.”

As we were waiting for our food at McDonald’s, a girl shouts my daughter’s name and runs over to her.  “Oh hi!” dd says.  Turns out the girl was going to the show as well.  They agreed to meet up.  Her mom had to get tickets at Will Call also.

Walking to the car with our food, dd says: “Okay, that’s perfect.  Now I have someone to hang out with.”  See?  I told her, gleefully.  Do you see how that worked out?  Totally Serendipity.  Her reply: “I was just thinking that.”

I dropped her off with her sister – at the now middle of the line that went down the street – and parked and headed for Will Call.  And as I did, the oddest thing happened…  Everyone rushed to the doors, as they began setting up barriers and signs for Male and Female.  Everyone had to be searched as they went through.  Suddenly, there WAS no semblance of lines.  All those who had shown up early and waited were relegated to “also ran” status as the “queue”  disappeared.  The Will Call line and the crowd were one and the same; it wasn’t a line – it was a throng.  (It was very disorganized and I was extremely disappointed in the venue for how this event was handled, but that is another day’s story.)

Long story short – when the doors opened, we were one of the first ones in the building.  My daughter’s goal was to be at the front of the stage against the barricade.  ..And so she was.  At the barricade, with a friend, having a great time.  I texted her after the first band, saying “let me know you are alive”.. and her reply was “We are! ;-)”  I asked her if she saw her bff and she said, “No.  She’s not at the barricade.  But I AM!”

Her next text to me was “Bff just texted me.  She’s crying in a corner, having a panic attack, and I can’t get out to go to her.”  Me: You stay where you are.  If she needs someone, I’ll go to her but you don’t move from that spot.  Her:  “Yeah, she quit texting me again.”

Success – Part 1

We had a great time.  My little one had a great time.  She was with a friend, at the front of the stage.  She got a pick from the bass player of her favorite band, and some great photos.  Fate intervened and gave her what she desired because she trusted the process.  She learned that you do the right thing because it IS the right thing.  Others may not like it, but that’s no reason to behave otherwise.

That’s the first part of the story.  There’s more – but enough for now.  To be continued tomorrow…

Have a wonderful May Day!  Spring is sprung!!

image found here:  http://richtaveras.com/2012/07/17/time/

Leave a Reply

