Puzzle

My life

Is
A Puzzlement

bigstockphoto_Last_Piece_Of_A_Puzzle_2247800_op_781x524

I have all the pieces
And some don’t go anywhere
Perhaps I haven’t gotten to that
section
yet
My life
is a puzzlement

I was good at puzzles

once

A big ball of spaghetti
(no meatballs)
All intertwined

Weaving
In
and out
and through
throughout

They all fit
sadly.
But fit
they
did

It was exhausting.
But I didn’t know it
was
exhausting
Because
I was very good at it.
And change is hard.
And there was spaghetti.

Yet one day
I left my spaghetti life
behind
me
and
moved
on…
far and away
and away.

My spaghetti life died.
It was all I had
All I had known
And now
it is no more
than a few strands that may
or may not
be twirled.
But I don’t do the twirling.

I had new spaghetti.
It was angel hair.
With butter.
and there was no weaving
of the work variety.
Only weaving
of the life variety
the fun variety
the reality of my puzzle.

Now
I don’t know where to put my pieces.
pieces are missing
who took my pieces
where did they go
they don’t want to be part of my puzzle
and  I miss them
And I puzzle alone.

Perhaps
Just maybe
We all
Puzzle Alone
Rely has no meaning
Understood is a hollow word
Begin is to heavy to hear

Because I am exhausted
By my puzzle
With the pieces
missing

I wondered if I dared
To leave another puzzle
that was angel hair
with butter
once

But the puzzle is
that my puzzle changes
And life isn’t all angel hair
Sometimes
it’s bowties
and elbow macaroni
And I don’t love pasta salad.

Perhaps it is time
to focus
on the bowties
and elbows
because they are mine
and here
and I can’t change where my angel hair has gone
and I don’t know why it left me
Perhaps for the same reasons
I left my spaghetti.
No meatballs.

image found here: http://hoopspeak.com/2012/02/making-it-all-fit-together-can-be-puzzling-or-whatever-is-the-best-puzzle-pun-here/

Leave a Reply

