Keeping the Faith

Keep Calm and Carry On.

Have a little faith. 

B’lieve, Hon.

There are so very many versions of “keep going even when it’s toughest” and I’m sure we are all familiar with how it feels to hear the words WHEN the going gets tough.  The last thing I want to hear in the midst of a difficult time in my life is “When the going gets tough… blah blah blah…” Know why?  Because I’VE BEEN going, and going and it’s still tough.  I’m running out of campfire songs to sing to myself and frankly, I’m not in the mood for MORE inspiration and encouragement.  LOL… sounds crazy huh?  We may be on to something here….

In the times when WE are craziest – worn thin, road weary, one more straw on an already broken back – we don’t like to hear “words” from others that are not walking in our shoes.  They can’t possibly understand.  They can’t KNOW how we feel.  How dare they offer us advice or encouragement or pronounce us “in the home stretch” when they do not understand the race we are running?  Whether it be financial, or emotional, or a health crisis, loss of a loved one – no one is going to experience it the way we are.  Only we can know how we feel. 

I am a person of “MOTTOES”   in that I have had little phrases that have gotten me through the difficult times in my life.  My first ever motto was “Everything always works out for the best and something always comes along.”  I was about 23 or 24 when I made this my motto.  I had been able to look back and see that even though a lot of hard things had happened in my life, that there was still a lot of good.  All the “bad” things I’d lived through – barely – had moved on, leaving other “catastrophes” in the spot they once held.  I had brand new crappola to deal with!  Yay me!  …but I digress…  I had survived hardship and yet, I was still going to work and still paying my rent and still… Yepp..  All those things I had thought would stop me cold in my tracks?  …they did not. I was still alive and kicking.  Kicking hard at things I didn’t like sometimes but I was still here on the planet.  Not so much the worse for wear, but a little more “seasoned” in my daily trek through life. 

Image

I LOVE giving advice.  I’m so good at it.  I can tell everyone what they need to do for THEM, but I’m not very good at taking my own advice.  I need to take a step back and get another look at my situation – a bird’s eye view, if you will.  The big picture is always different than that we see from a foot away. 

It’s going to be okay.  One way or another.  Everything will work out.  It may not seem the best solution to you in the moment, but in the long run I can assure you that you will see many nuances that you missed when submersed in the cruelty of daily life.  You will see much more that was going on with a little perspective.  I have learned that looking back and seeing what I’ve come through can carry me through a long day.  Looking back and realizing that you’ve withstood and overcome so much more than what you are faced with in this moment can give you perspective to face tomorrow.  Hopefully we are all here to face tomorrow, but that’s never been guaranteed.  And so we are back to living in the moment.  Loving in the moment.  What has one minute of worry ever brought us that we want to keep?  Nothing good. 

Keep the faith.  One day at a time.  Blah blah blah…

Come on, girl.  You’ve got this.  You’re doing fine – just keep dancing.  It may not always be pretty, but whatever gets you through. 

I like to joke that when St. Peter tries to get God’s attention to point out my “bad behavior” that God waves him off,  “She’s doing fine.  Let her go.  I’ve got this.”  And may I just say, God has a wicked sense of humor.  I don’t laugh at MANY of God’s jokes, but I do have this FABULOUS sense of humor – that came from where?  Oh.. right. 

Stay strong.  Keep the faith.  Shine in adversity.  Blah blah blah…

I’m pretty sure God’s got this…  But you don’t have to laugh unless you want to.  My advice:  WANT TO.  Do it.  Laugh.  It’s a lovely alternative to tears.  Save them for another day when you need them.  Because today isn’t so bad.  You just need a little perspective. 

“Hope is faith holding out its hand in the dark..” ~ George Iles

Tomorrow?  Hope. 

Later, my lovelies…

2 thoughts on “Keeping the Faith

Leave a Reply

